Orlando Lawyer Defends You Against Weapons Charges
Receive esteemed counsel from a criminal law attorney with more than 30 years of experience
Crimes such as theft, carjacking and burglary are serious offenses punishable by fines and prison time. However, if a weapon is used during the commission of any of these crimes, the penalty is enhanced. Furthermore, you could face additional penalties for the unlawful possession and use of a firearm. Without proper counsel by your side, you could spend the rest of your life behind bars. With more than 30 years of legal experience, attorney Neal T. McShane at McShane & McShane Law Firm, P.A. handles armed robbery and other weapons charges on a regular basis. We understand the seriousness of the charge against you and work tirelessly to defend your rights.
Types of cases involving weapons charges
To be charged with an enhanced penalty for using a gun during the commission of a crime, you need not fire the weapon. Given the frequency of shootings across the United States, gun laws are strict and individuals who use or possess firearms illegally face the full weight of the legal system. Our criminal defense attorney defends those accused of various types of weapon crimes, ranging from home invasions to theft, including:
- Armed robbery — According to Florida law, armed robbery is defined as the act of stealing another person’s property, without consent, while possessing a deadly weapon, such as a knife or gun. The penalty for armed robbery varies based on your criminal history, the type of gun used, whether the gun was fired and whether someone suffered an injury as a result.
- Concealed weapon — Carrying a concealed firearm in Florida without a license violates the law. If you are arrested for carrying a concealed weapon illegally, you may be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor offense.
- Assault with a deadly weapon — In Florida, assault with a deadly weapon falls under what is termed aggravated assault and is a felony in the third degree.
- Carjacking with a firearm — The crime of carjacking is penalized harshly in Florida and is prosecuted as a felony in the first degree. However, if you commit the crime while using a firearm, you may receive up to life in prison.
The 10-20-Life law, a firearms law, triggers a minimum mandatory sentence for individuals who unlawfully possess, carry or use a gun. Under this law, you receive a minimum of 10 years in prison if you carry a firearm, 20 if you discharge a gun and 25-to-life if a person is shot or killed. Additionally, many federal laws prohibit the illegal sale, possession, trafficking and use of firearms.
Contact a reputable defense lawyer today for a free initial consultation
Gun charges can be serious. However, with the help of our legal team at McShane & McShane Law Firm, P.A., you may be able to have your sentence reduced or the charges against you dismissed. To schedule a free initial consultation to discuss your case with an experienced criminal law attorney, call 407.648.1500 or contact us online. Se habla español.