Orlando Defense Lawyer Helps You Combat Drug Possession Charges
Providing clients with knowledgeable counsel for more than 30 years
Being arrested for the possession of a drug can be a life-changing experience. After you have been booked, make your first phone call to an experienced lawyer. When you retain our services at McShane & McShane Law Firm, P.A., we immediately begin working toward the fastest resolution of your case. Our lawyer fiercely defends your freedom by scrutinizing every detail of your case to determine if any of your constitutional rights have been violated.
While some states have legalized marijuana, Florida has not. In fact, possessing 20 grams of marijuana or less is a misdemeanor offense and is punishable by up to one year in jail and $1,000 in fines. Possession of more than 20 grams becomes a felony offense punishable by up to five years in prison. Also, having 25 pounds of marijuana qualifies you to be charged with trafficking.
Possession of marijuana paraphernalia is its own separate offense. If you’re convicted of the possession of cannabis paraphernalia, you’re facing up to a year in jail and $1,000 in fines.
Many people assume that possession of a small amount of heroin is a minor offense. However, if you are caught with any amount of heroin, even a pipe or spoon with residue, you are charged with a third-degree felony, which carries a prison sentence of up to five years, five years of probation or a fine of $5,000.
Florida Statute 893.13 stipulates that the possession of cocaine is a felony in the third degree punishable by up to five years in prison or up to five years of probation. Many first-time offenders receive probation for the possession of cocaine. However, the charges you’re facing depend on whether you have a criminal history, whether you have prior drug or cocaine convictions and whether you possessed a large quantity of cocaine (the threshold for triggering a trafficking charge is 28 grams or more).
Also called crystal meth, methamphetamine is considered a highly dangerous controlled substance in Florida. If you’re arrested for possessing any amount of meth up to 14 grams in Orange County or elsewhere in the Sunshine State, you are charged with a third-degree felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, five years in prison and five years of probation.
If you’re facing any of the above charges, promptly obtaining the guidance of a knowledgeable drug defense attorney after an arrest cannot be stressed enough.
Contact a drug defense lawyer free of charge in Orange County, FL
Have you been charged with possession? Contact McShane & McShane Law Firm, P.A. online or by calling 407.648.1500 to schedule a free consultation to talk about your case with our experienced lawyer. Our office is located near mass transit, and on-site parking is available. Se habla español.