Orlando DUI Lawyer Understands Sentences and Penalties in Florida
Defending clients in the Sunshine State for 30 years
Florida imposes strong sentences and penalties for Florida DUI convictions. If you are charged with DUI, you need an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side. Since 1983, attorney Neal T. McShane at McShane & McShane Law Firm, P.A. has worked diligently to defend Florida motorists accused of drinking and driving. He offers personalized service and understands the consequences of a DUI conviction on your life. Relying on more than three decades of experience in criminal law, he quickly reviews your case and constructs a strong defense.
What are the penalties for first-time offenders?
Many people who have never been arrested for drunk driving mistakenly assume that they are going to be given a mere slap on the wrist for a first offense. In fact, without the counsel of a criminal defense attorney, you could spend time in jail. Moreover, a first-time DUI conviction can be a life-changer. You may experience problems in your personal, social and professional life, in addition to the following legal penalties:
- Breath or blood alcohol level (BAL) of .08 to .15: fine between $500 and $1,000
- Breath or BAL of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle: fine between $1,000 and $2,000
- Community service
- A minimum of 50 hours of mandatory community service
- Some judges authorize the "buyout" of part or all of the community service at a rate of $10 per hour
- A maximum of one year of probation and incarceration
- Jail time
- Breath or BAL of .08 to .15: maximum of six months in prison
- Breath or BAL of .15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle: maximum of nine months in prison
- Up to 10 days for a first offense
- Vehicle impoundment
Florida DUI penalties increase with convictions
The penalties for DUI in Florida increase with each subsequent conviction. Drivers charged with DUI in Florida after being involved in a motor vehicle accident face even stiffer consequences, including lengthy incarceration, driver’s license suspension and increased fines. These penalties become even more stringent if the accident injures or kills another person. In such a case, the driver may be charged with vehicular manslaughter. The penalties for subsequent drunk driving convictions include:
- Second DUI conviction — For a second DUI conviction when your BAL is less than .15 percent, you must pay fines between $1,000 and $2,000, serve up to nine months in jail and have your license suspended for up to five years (if your second conviction occurs within five years of your last one).
- Third DUI conviction — Third-time DUI offenders with a BAL of less than .15 percent must pay between $2,000 and $5,000 in fines and serve up to 12 months of jail time. Furthermore, if your third DUI conviction occurs within five years of your first or second one, your license is suspended for five years.
- Fourth DUI conviction — A fourth DUI conviction results in a minimum of $2,000 in fines, up to five years in prison and a permanent license suspension.
Contact Neal T. McShane, a veteran DUI lawyer in Orlando
Knowledge and experience are valuable tools in the practice of law. If you or a family member is facing DUI charges in Florida, you can rely on our seasoned DUI legal team at McShane & McShane Law Firm, P.A. in Orlando. Call us at 407.648.1500 or contact us online today to discuss your case. There is no charge for your first visit. Se habla español.